skip navigation

Executive Director Column

Drew Potthoff Executive Director


Hello Everyone and Welcome to the ICA Website! 

Welcome to the Spring edition of the ICA newsletter TORCH. I hope that all your spring sports are going well. Soon you will be participating in playoffs and IHSA state tournaments. This is always an exciting time for coaches and athletes. It also becomes a bittersweet time as coaches say goodbye to their senior athletes whom they have coaches throughout their high school careers. Coaches, make sure you send your seniors off to their next chapter in their lives on a high note. You have been a huge influence on these athletes and hopefully they have left you great memories and experiences. I found this, hopefully your athletes feel this way about you as they move on.

I hope you enjoy this edition of the TORCH. We have included some great articles that hopefully can be of use to all of you. Also in this issue are the winners of the ICA Scholarships that we offer to children of our members, our NHSACA Coach of the Year Finalists and NHSACA Hall of Fame inductees for this year.

We can’t stress the importance of our corporate partners in the operation of the ICA. Check their website and ad in this edition. Remember-Give them your support!

Enjoy the finish to your spring seasons and good luck in the IHSA playoffs and state tournaments. As always if there is anything the ICA can do for you just let us know.


Who are We?

A State Coaching Organization that is intent on representing all coaches of the state of Illinois. Founded 1928; continuous service to date. National Affiliation - (NHSACA) National High School Athletic Coaches Assoc., (NOCAD) National Association of Coaches Association Directors, (NHSFCA) National High School Football Coaches Alliance   

Wednesday June 26, 2024


Wade Hunter   Roanoke-Benson High School

Brandon Tashner   East Dubuque High School




Game Itinerary

2024 All Star Football Shrine Game Coaches

Cully Welter- HC  HFC Monticello HS
Ron Planz HFC Lake Zurich HS
Ryan Hebard HFC Knoxville HS
Colton Rhodes HFC Collinsville HS
Eric Lyons HFC Stanford Olympia HS
Tolly Tsiamas HFC Peotone HS
Chris Malette-HC HFC (Chicago) Hope Academy
Mike Noll HFC Richmond Burton HS
Patrick Lower HFC Fulton HS
Anthony Sheehan HFC Richards HS
Justin Groves HFC Benton HS
Jason Drengwitz HFC Normal Community

What the ICA Offers and Member Benefits

  • The ICA Newsletter ‘The Torch’ times a year
  • $2,000,000 Liability Insurance Policy
  • NEW! FREE access to Coach & Athletic Director magazine digital editions, which includes the All-Sport Education Series from Proactive CoachingCoaching for Significance. 
  • Discount on Accident/Medical Insurance for participants in sports camps (Available to Illinois Coaches Association Members Only)
  • Illinois Coach of the Year Awards and membership in the National High School Athletic Coaches Association (NHSACA)
  • Eligibility of Son or Daughter to Compete for one of five $750 Scholarships Annually
  • Eligibility of Son or Daughter to compete for our new “Memorial Scholarship” for $500
  • Eligibility to nominate athletes for the ICA/Shrine Football All Star game & All Star Baseball game
  • Sponsorship of All Star Activities in Football and Baseball since 1975 
  • ICA Golf Clinic and Golf Hall of Fame Banquet
  • Serve the Illinois High School Association by helping in various activities. 

Job Openings 2023-2024

Resurrection College Prep High School

Asst Girls Varsity Volleyball Coach
Asst. Girls Soccer Coach
Asst. Girls Lacrosse Coach
Girls Track Throws Coach

Eddie Kane, CMAA | Athletic Director
Resurrection College Prep High School
7500 West Talcott Avenue | Chicago, Illinois 60631

P: 773.775.6616 Ext 134 |
F: 773.775.0611

2023-24 NHSACA Coach of the Year Nominees

2023-2024 ICA/NHSACA Coach of the YEAR Nominees

Matt Hensley     Athletic Director               Mahomet Seymour High School

Lee Milano Baseball Nazareth Academy
Nick Ruettiger Boys' Assistant St. Charles East High School
Dan Grieves Boys' Basketball Metamora  Township High School
John Sipple Boys' Cross Country Downers Grove North High School
Barry Malloyd Boys' Track and Field East St. Louis Sr. High School
Mark Ramsey Football St. Theresa High School
Evan Massey Girls' Basketball Galesburg High School
Pete Wintermute Girls' Cross Country Prospect High School
Marques Lowe Girls' Track and Field Kankakee High School
Perry Peterson Softball Barrington High School
Jeff Wimer Special Sports Stevenson High School
Rob Rooney Swimming and Diving St. Charles North High School
Jennifer Hayes Volleyball Hartsburg Emden High School
Rob Ledin Wrestling Mahomet-Seymour High School


  Matt Hensley     Athletic Director   Mahomet Seymour High School

Lee Milano Baseball Nazareth Academy
Dan Grieves    Boys' Basketball     Metamora  Township High School
Mark Ramsey Football St. Theresa High School
Jeff Wimer Special Sports Stevenson High School
Rob Ledin Wrestling Mahomet-Seymour HS



Joe Cliffe

Drew Potthoff

  1. 1 of 7
  2. 2 of 7
  3. 3 of 7
  4. 4 of 7
  5. 5 of 7
  6. 6 of 7
  7. 7 of 7

Plans for the Future

  • To Expand All Star Competition to include other sports 
  • Continue on-going professional relationship with existing coaches groups throughout the state and nation 
  • Improve opportunities for all athletes and coaches throughout Illinois 
  • Continue expansion of Awards Program to honor deserving coaches and athletes 

MAXPreps Score Widget

Coaches Assistance Program (Click Above Image)



  • Samantha Hartoin
  • Justin Pedersen
  • Alivia Crisco

2023 Tim "Mo" Caldwell
Memorial Scholarship Winner

Samantha Hartoin

ICA Student Scholarships

For the 27th year that the ICA has scholarships available to a son or daughter of a member.  Students compete for one of five ICA $750 scholarships every year. Also, this year we start a new scholarship offering the Tim "Mo" Caldwell Memorial Scholarship for $500.

Students' application process includes an essay, academic standing and recommendations by school personnel. The screening process is handled by the ICA Board of Directors.

Application Deadline is April 5, 2024 for ICA Scholarships

Application Deadline is April 5, 2024 for the Tim "Mo" Caldwell Memorial Scholarship


Serving All Coaches in All Sports

Twitter: @ICA_Illinois

Send ICA Scholarship Applications New Address

Drew Potthoff, CMAA
Executive Director ICA
2730 Via Tivoli 335 B
Clearwater, FL 33764

Coaches, in the end, our career W/L record just won’t matter. 
It won’t be what we will want others to remember us by. 
All that will matter will be who we helped, how we went about it
& the lasting impression we left on those who crossed our path.

Live each day with that in mind.

MaxPreps Score Widget


Good afternoon, Coach Potthoff,

Hope all is well, and a new year is off to a great beginning. The Jason Foundation is proud to collaborate with the Illinois Coaches Association. We are extremely appreciative of you sharing our programs to further educate coaches. I am sending a brief video from Clark Flatt, the president of JFI, expressing grateful appreciation to the ICA for the great work you do in prevention of youth suicide. My request would be to share with coaches and place the video on your website. Thank you for your conscientious effort to educate coaches about the “Silent Epidemic” of youth suicide. JFI would be honored to serve you any way possible to help save lives.


Here is the link to the video.


Illinois Coaches Association Sponsors

Interested in becoming a sponsor of Illinois Coaches Association? Contact Us!